Alan Garner has an announcement to make…

Wow.

So Alan Garner is planning to finish the Weirdstone of Brisingamen trilogy, fifty years on. Weirdstone and its sequel, The Moon of Gomrath, were childhood favourites of mine – reading the final book as an adult is going to be a real experience. The last one of his books I read was Strandloper, which I found beautiful, instinctively comprehensible and blissfully confusing in equal measure; I haven’t read Thursbitch, which is mentioned in the article, but am starting to think I should. Sense of place and the fragility of particular moments in time is always important to me; it was the thing that really made the Stone Book Quartet sing for me, and it sounds from the Guardian’s summary as if Thursbitch is full of it.

I really can’t wait to read this. I hope it won’t disappoint me.

Leave a Reply

